Aspie Sean Week 6: “Aspie’s & Sensory Issues”.

I can so relate to this. If I could hide from the world, I would.

Anonymously Autistic

Sensory overload and sensory problems can be one of the most disabling aspects of being an Aspie. For me avoiding social situations is necessary for survival. Being constantly overloaded is stressful and bad for our health.

Apparently I am not the only person who can not handle a crowded restaurant, club, or other loud busy venue. If I force myself into these situations I can sometimes survive them but by the time I get home I implode into myself.

If I get overloaded it can take me hours to decompress. I have to remove myself from all sensory input and people the frustrating thing is it takes me a long time to recover once I’ve been overloaded and once I have one overload more overloads become more likely.

View original post

Leave a Reply

